* UC Irvine access only
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2015
- LandScan Global Population Database* | 2000-current
The LandScan Global Population Database, developed by the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), is the world’s most accurate and reliable, geographically based, distribution model and finest resolution global population database. LandScan is the industry standard for global population
The UCI Langson Library has a small collection of printed maps, atlases, and aerial photographs of Orange County. Some of the printed maps are cataloged and included in ANTPAC, the Library's online catalog. Other maps are uncataloged. These may be located in the map cases in the Map and Atlas Area on the 1st floor of the Langson Library or they are part of publications in the government publications collections on the Basement Level of the Langson Library. For more information consult the Maps and Atlases section of this website.
Cataloged maps, atlases, and aerial photographs can be located in ANTPAC by searching either by Subject or Keyword and include the words "map", "atlas" or "aerial", as appropriate. Place or geographic names can be searched as Keywords and the term "map".
- GeoRef* - ProQuest
The GeoRef database, established in 1966 by the American GeoSciences Institute (AGI), provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive AGI database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 80,000 references a year. The database contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
- Google Earth Pro (Free)
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection. University of Texas
The PCL Map Collection includes more than 250,000 maps, yet less than 20% of the collection is currently online.
Restricted to UCI and access is restricted to 3 simultaneous users (please try again later if refused).
"SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States..."
- Social Explorer*
Social Explorer provides easy-to-use tools for visual exploration of demographic information, from census and economic data to election and religion data, and more. With these interactive online tools, users can visually explore change over time and understand the patterns behind the raw numbers.
- American Factfinder | U.S. Census Bureau
An online application that provides access to detailed tables and maps for population, housing and businesses.
- United States Census Bureau, Maps & Data
Find geographic data and products such as the TIGER/Line Shapefiles, KMLs, TIGERweb, cartographic boundary files, geographic relationship files, and reference and thematic maps.
Your one stop for federal, state and local geographic data.
- Geographic Information Systems, USGS
A USGS Poster Session on GIS Basics: "Geographic information system (GIS) technology can be used for scientific investigations, resource management, and development planning..."