|
|
| • |
County of Orange homepage |
| • |
Orange County
cities |
| • |
Orange County agencies in
an alphabetical list |
| • |
Orange County Survey An annual
survey done by the Public Policy Institute of California in Collaboration with
the University of California, Irvine. Earlier years are available in paper.
Call number: HN 79 C22 O77 Langson Library Gov Info Orange |
| • |
State and Local Government on
the Net Locates state, county, and city web sites for the whole
nation. |
|
Top of Page 
|
|
In-depth guides & instructional materials |
| • |
ANTPAC The UCI Libraries
on-line catalog to locate books, periodical titles, and government publications.
Cataloged material can be located by searching ANTPAC by the keywords of an
issue or geographic name. For common topics such as "airports" included the
phase "Orange County", (e.g. airports and Orange County). If you need assistance
consider using the ANTPAC government information tutorial. |
| • |
ANTPAC
Tutorial |
| • |
ANTPAC government information
tutorial |
| • |
Melvyl Locate books,
journals, government documents, electronic resources, microforms and more
throughout the UC Library system. |
| • |
Description of the UCI Libraries Orange County
Collection The Orange County or Local Collection is a part of the UCI
Libraries Government Information Collection. |
| • |
Maps/Aerial Photos/Geographic Information
Systems (GIS) UCI Government Information Collection has a selection
of Orange County aerial photo atlases, and topographic maps which are located in
the Map and Atlas section on the 1st floor of the UCI Langson Library. The call
numbers and locations of the aerial photos atlases can be located by searching
ANTPAC by subject (e.g. Orange County Calif - aerial photos). The topographic
maps are filed by name in the California section in the map cases. . Historical
aerial photos and GIS products can be purchased through the Orange County Public
Facilities and Resources Department. Geomatics/Land Information Systems.
In order to find appropriate GIS products, UCI faculty and students may
take advantage of the GIS consultation service offered in the Library or
referring to the GIS website. |
| • |
Geomatics/Land Information
Systems |
| • |
UCI
GIS Consultation Service |
| • |
Tustin Marine Corps Air
Station Documents Repository The UCI Orange County collection houses the
current documents on the base closure. These documents are not cataloged and
cannot be found in ANTPAC. They are arranged in chronological order, and are
located behind the UCI Langson Library reference desk. For further information
about the City of Tustin’s redevelopment of the base property go to the City of
Tustin web site. |
| • |
City of
Tustin |
|
Top of Page 
|
|
ANTPAC and Melvyl |
| • |
ANTPAC The UCI Libraries
on-line catalog to locate books, periodical titles, and government publications.
Cataloged material can be located by searching ANTPAC by the keywords of an
issue or geographic name. For common topics such as "airports" included the
phase "Orange County", (e.g. airports and Orange County). If you need assistance
consider using the ANTPAC Government Information Tutorial. |
| • |
ANTPAC
Tutorial |
| • |
ANTPAC Government Information
Tutorial |
| • |
Melvyl Will show all the
cataloged material at UCI and at other UCI libraries. |
| • |
Much of the Orange County
collection is not cataloged Request help in finding material on Orange
County at the Langson Library Reference Desk. |
|
Top of Page 
|
|
|
|
|
|
There is no database that focuses on documents, articles, or other material
related to Orange County. The social and political sciences databases may have
some articles about the Orange County. When searching UCI article databases by
subject or keyword include "Orange County California" to limit your search.
Possible article databases
|
| • |
Academic Search Complete  Scholarly and news articles on a variety of
topics |
| • |
PAIS
 |
| • |
News and
Newspapers The Orange County Register and the Los Angeles Times
provide very good sources for information on Orange County issues. |
| • |
Orange County
Register Current issues for three months - Current Periodical Room 2nd
Floor of the UCI Langson Library. Microfilm 1906-present - Current Periodical
Room 2nd Floor of UCI Langson Library |
| • |
Newsbank
1987 - present: Indexing and full text articles  |
| • |
Los Angeles
Times Current issues for three months - Current Periodical Room 2nd Floor
of UCI Langson Library. Microfilm 1881-present - Current Periodical Room 2nd
Floor of UCI Langson Library. |
| • |
Proquest 1985 - present: Indexing
and full text articles -  |
| • |
LexisNexisTM - Academic
 Available the from the Library’s homepage through
Article Databases, will locate articles in a variety of newspapers. |
| • |
Index to Current Urban Documents  This database includes selected Orange County and city
documents. Indexing and full text article access 2000 - present. Paper indexes
1972-2000. Call No.: Z1223 Z715 Langson Reference. |
|
Top of Page 
|
|
|
|
|
| • |
Chapman University Economic
and Business Review Provides an annual forecast of economic conditions in
Orange County and the nation. Call number: HC 107 C22 O61 Langson Library
Gov Info Orange |
| • |
Orange County Progress
Report Call number: F 868 O6 O7 Latest at the Langson Library Reference
Desk This source is published by the Center for Demographic Research located
at Cal State Fullerton. It contains statistics on the population and economy of
the county and each city. |
| • |
Center for Demographic
Research |
| • |
California Board of
Equalization Agency administers many state revenue programs that
affect counties, such as, property and sales taxes. |
| • |
California Criminal Justice
Statistics Center - Publications Many of the publications will have
statistics for each county. One of the main publications of this agency is
California Criminal Profiles Statewide by County - Orange Call number: J250
C7rs O7 Latest at the Langson Library Reference Desk |
| • |
California Employment
Development Department -Labor Market Information A very good site to
located current and historical (back to the 1980s) statistics on labor force,
industries, occupations, and wages. The profile of each California county can be
searched. |
| • |
California Department of
Finance. Demographic Research Unit Reports on estimated, and
projected population, and legal immigrations are calculated to the county
level. |
| • |
California Franchise Tax
Board Provides income tax information and publications |
| • |
County Health
Profiles Call number: H 987 H41 2000 Latest at the Langson Library
Reference Desk |
|
|
| • |
RAND
California Provides a wide variety of statistics down to the county
and city level, like Counting California. |
| • |
US Census Bureau Contains
demographic and economic statistics down to the county level |
| • |
American
Factfinder Provides on line access to the 1990 and 2000 census
statistics, down to the block level if they are available. |
|
Top of Page 
|
|
|
| • |
Orange County |
| • |
Supervisors |
| • |
List of
all other county elected officials |
| • |
State Legislators
(searchable by zip code) |
| • |
State California
Senate |
| • |
Bob Margett 29th
District |
| • |
Dick Ackerman 33rd
District |
| • |
Lou Correa 34th
District |
| • |
Tom Harmon 35th
District |
| • |
Mark Wyland 38th
District |
| • |
California State
Assembly |
| • |
Tony Mendoza
56th District |
| • |
Bob
Huff 60th District |
| • |
Jim
Silva 67th District |
| • |
Van
Tran 68th District |
| • |
Jose Solorio
69th District |
| • |
Chuck
DeVore 70th District |
| • |
Todd
Spitzer 71st District |
| • |
Mike
Duvall 72nd District |
| • |
Mimi
Walters 73rd District |
| • |
Federal Representatives and
Senators |
| • |
U.S.
Senate |
| • |
Sen. Barbara Boxer |
| • |
Sen. Dianne Feinstein |
| • |
U.S. House of Representatives - Congressional
Districts |
| • |
Ed Royce 40th District |
| • |
Gary Miller 42nd
District |
| • |
Ken Calvert 44th
District |
| • |
Dana Rohrabacher 46th
District |
| • |
Loretta Sanchez 47th
District |
| • |
John Campbell 48th
District |
|
Top of Page 
|
|
|
| • |
Orange County Registrar of
Voters Administers all federal, state, and local elections. Voting
registration can be handled through this site. Election results are also posted
here. |
| • |
California Secretary of
State The Voting and Elections Division administers elections in the
state, certifies candidates, ballot initiatives, election results, and provides
proposition information. |
|
Top of Page 
|
|
|
|
Laws and ordinances for Orange County and its cities may be found at the
websites for that jurisdiction. The UCI Libraries does not collect laws or
ordinances for the cities and county.
|
| • |
Orange County
cities |
| • |
County
of Orange Ordinances |
| • |
UC Berkeley
Institute for Government Studies Maintains a large depository
collection of local ordinance codes and charters issued by California cities and
counties. Many of the cities are hyperlinked. |
| • |
Orange County Law Library The
Law Library collects paper copies of the county and city ordinances. It also has
on-line editions of codes and ordinances through its homepage. Select "Legal
Research" and then choose "Local Research on the Internet". The UC Berkeley
Institute for Governmental Studies California Codes and Charters and the
Municipal Code website at the Seattle Public Library are listed. |
|
Top of Page 
|
|
|
| • |
California EPA Santa Ana Regional
Water Quality Control Board This agency is responsible for the
preservation and restoration of water resources in an area that stretches from
the San Bernardino Mountains to Newport Bay. |
| • |
California
Department of Toxic Substance Control Brownfields Reuse Provides
information on the clean-up of contaminated sites. |
| • |
Orange County Health Care Agency
Environmental Health Division This agency issues health advisories
when the bacteria level at a county beach exceeds state standards. |
| • |
Heal the
Bay Provides weekly, summer and annual Beach Report Cards for
Southern California beaches. |
| • |
Newport Bay Naturalists and
Friends |
| • |
Orange County
Natural History |
| • |
Southern
California Wetland Inventory The Southern California Coastal Wetlands
Inventory is a database of existing information on 41 coastal wetlands that lie
between Mexico and Pt. Conception in northern Santa Barbara County. It provides
three types of information for each site: 1) a map of the wetland’s
historical extent; 2) a map of recent habitat distributions; and 3) a
"profile" which briefly describes ecological conditions, and land use and
enhancement histories. Paper copies of all the reports are located in the UCI
Libraries Orange County collection. |
|
Top of Page 
|
|
|
| • |
Orange County Department of
Education |
| • |
Orange County School
Districts The "schools" tab at the top of the website provides access
the various school websites and test scores for Orange County and distinct
information. |
| • |
Orange County
libraries Click on "Selected California Library Web Sites" in the
menu. |
| • |
California Department of
Education School test scores under Assessment and
Accountability |
|
Top of Page 
|
|
Finding in-depth &
specialized Orange County information |
| • |
Social Science Data Archives  Collects and disseminates, for academic research and
instructional use, machine-readable data in a variety of formats. These formats
include CD-ROMs and floppy disks. Data can also be accessed and downloaded via
the Web. |
| • |
South
East Asian Archives The Archive collects materials relating to the
resettlement of Southeast Asian refugees and immigrants in the United States
(and to a lesser extent, worldwide), the boat people and land refugees, and the
culture and history of Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam. There is a special focus on
materials pertaining to Southeast Asians in Orange County and
California. |
| • |
UCI
Special Collections and Archives Regional history collection includes
the Don Meadows Collection of Orange County, California, and Baja California
materials. In addition to extensive book, pamphlet, periodical, photograph,
manuscript, map, and ephemera holdings, the collection contains the papers of
local political figures such as Congressman Robert Badham and Orange County
Supervisor Willis H. Warner. |
| • |
Orange County Historical
Society The Orange County Historical Society, is a research,
archival, and educational organization, dedicated to the discovery,
preservation, and dissemination of the history of Orange County, California. The
Society's reference library contains over 1,500 volumes, and there are over 500
files with information on families, historic buildings, events and sites, plus a
map and photograph collection. The resources and office are located at the
Howe-Waffle House and Medical Museum, 120 Civic Center Dr. West in Santa Ana.
Please call for an appointment (714) 543-8282 or send an e-mail to
HistoryOC@aol.com |
| • |
Orange County Photography
Archive This archive has a very extensive collection of Orange County
photos. It is located at the First American Corporation, 1 First American Way,
Santa Ana, CA. The Archive is opened by appointment. Please call Bob Blankman
(714) 800-3916 to make an
appointment. |
| • |
Southern California Association of
Governments As the designated Metropolitan Planning Organization, the
Association of Governments is mandated by the federal government to research and
draw up plans for transportation, growth management, hazardous waste management,
and air quality. Additional mandates exist at the state level. |
| • |
South Coast Air Quality Management
District The South Coast Air Quality Management District, by law, is
required to achieve and maintain healthful air quality for its residents. This
mission is accomplished through a comprehensive program of planning, regulation,
compliance assistance, enforcement, monitoring, technology advancement, and
public education. The AQMD is the air pollution control agency for the
four-county region including Los Angeles and Orange counties and parts of
Riverside and San Bernardino counties. |
| • |
Metropolitan Water District of Southern
California The Metropolitan Water District of Southern California is
a consortium of 26 cities and water districts that provide drinking water to
parts of Los Angeles, Orange, San Diego, Riverside, San Bernardino, and Ventura
counties. |