Recommended Journals, Zines, & Publications
Open Access Resources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
* UC Irvine access only
Admin Sign In 

Library & Information Science  Tags: information_science library  

Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/lib_sci  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Ask A Librarian

For Chat, Text, eMail and to schedule a Research Consultation with a Librarian, use:

 

Ask A Librarian

 

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.

Web VPN

Software VPN

More Information Regarding the VPN

 

Copying/Printing at the Libraries

Beginning in Fall, 2008 the UCI PhotoID will serve as your copy card for copying and xeroxing.  It requires that money be added to it by inserting it in one of the Regenerator machines found throughout the UCI Libraries.  Enter a few dollars at a time and add to it when it is depleted.  Costs will be debited at the rate of 8 cents per copy or xerox made; 12 cents per page of printing.

 
 

Home

This subject page reflects current interests for librarians and information scientists and those who may want to know more these fields.  Designed to support working librarians at UCI, it covers current best practices, resources, sources of needed information and trends in academic libraries and the general field of librarianship and library service.  Also, attempts to cover trends in profession and related links to subject areas closely aligned to library & information science.

Reference Works

  • ALISE Library & Information Science Education Statistical Report  
    Data from 1997-current about faculty, students, curriculum, expenditures, and more about programs in LIS. From the Associaton for Library & Information Science Education.
  • American Library Directory  
    Call number: (LL Ref) Z 731 A53 (latest)
    Provides a listing of public, academic, government and special libraries in the United States, Mexico and Canada, with information on library incomes, personnel, expenditures and automated capabilities.
  • Annual Review of Information Science and Technology  
    Call number: (LL) Z 699.A1 A625
  • Association of Research Libraries (ARL) Statistics  
    Statistics on ARL university libraries from 1963-present and now maintained by the University of Virginia Geospatial and Statistical Data Center.
  • Basic Spanish for Librarians ¡Sí Hablo Español, Un Poquito!  
    From the Texas Library Association. Includes Spanish alphabet, some notes on Spanish pronunciation, basic Spanish words and phrases, and Spanish library-related words and phrases.
  • Dictionary Society of North America  
  • Directory of ALA Accredited LIS Programs  
    View programs by state or Canadian province. Also can limit search to schools that offer various distance education options, as well as PhD programs. Maintained by the Committee on Accreditation at the American Library Association.
  • Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers  
    Call number: Science Library Ref Z 731 D5
    A guide to more than 23,200 special libraries, research libraries, information centers, archives, and data centers maintained by government agencies, business industry, newspapers, education institutions, etc.
  • Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science  
    Call number: (LL) Z1006 .E57 2003
  • International encyclopedia of information and library science  
    Call number: (LL) Z1006 .I57 2003
  • Library Lingo  
  • Library Lingo: A Guide to Library Terminology  
  • Library Lingo: Some Common Library Terms Defined  
  • Multilingual Glossary of Library Terms: Language Table  
  • ODLIS: Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science  
  • State Library Agency Report 2006  
    This report marks the first release of library statistics data from the Institute of Museum and Library Services. It contains data on state library agencies in the 50 states and the District of Columbia for state fiscal year (FY) 2006.
  • The Bowker Annual Library and Book Trade Almanac  
    Call number: (LL Ref) Z 731 B68 (latest)
    Presents a mix of informed analysis and practical information of interest to the library, information, and book trade communities.
  • World Guide to Libraries  
    Call number: (LL) Z 721 I5
    A comprehensive index to libraries in the world.
 

Liaison Librarian

Profile ImageJulia Gelfand, Applied Sciences & Engineering Librarian
Contact Info:
Office: Science Library 228
Phone: 949-824-4971
EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait