Organizations
Misc. Healthcare Organizations:
- American Academy of Dermatology
Includes a “Find a Dermatologist” directory, news, and sidebar links to special pages of extensive information on the most common skin conditions. - American Council for Headache Education
Site aims to empower and inform headache sufferers about the various causes and treatments of headaches so that an effective therapy can be achieved to aid them in achieving a better quality of life. - American Heart Association
Site contains information on heart disease and stroke research and prevention. It describes warning signs, risk awareness, and other family health related issues. - American Liver Foundation Nonprofit organization that promotes liver health and disease prevention. ALF provides research, education and advocacy for those affected by liver-related diseases, including hepatitis.
- American Lung Association Oldest voluntary health organization in the United States. The American Lung Association fights lung disease in all its forms, with special emphasis on asthma, tobacco control and environmental health.
- American Pain Foundation Independent nonprofit organization that provides information, advocacy, and support. Their mission is to improve quality of life by raising public awareness, providing practical information, promoting research, and much more.
- Arthritis Foundation Only national not-for-profit organization that supports the more than 100 types of arthritis and related conditions with advocacy, programs, services and research.
- Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America
Site provides practical information, community based services and support through a national network of chapters and support groups. - National Organization for Rare Disorders Unique federation of voluntary health organizations dedicated to helping people with rare "orphan" diseases and assisting the organizations that serve them.
- National Stroke Association
NSA’s mission includes lowering the incidence and impact of stroke and educating both healthcare professionals and the general public. - Your Disease Risk
Site collects the latest scientific evidence on disease risk factors into one easy-to-use tool and allows users to find out their risk of developing any of the five most important diseases in the United States.
Government Agencies
General health and medical U.S. Government agencies:
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality AHRQ is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans.
- Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR) is a federal public health agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
- CDC - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is one of the 13 major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), which is the principal agency in the United States government for protecting health and safety.
- Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services is the federal agency responsible for administering the Medicare, Medicaid, SCHIP, HIPAA, CLIA, and several other health-related programs.
- Health Resources and Services Administration Health Resources and Services Administration, as part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary health care service agency of the Federal Government.
- National Institutes of Health National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research.
- Office of Public Health and Science Office of Public Health and Science (OPHS) is under the direction of the Assistant Secretary for Health (ASH), who serves as the Secretary's primary advisor on matters involving the nation's public health.
- U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Department of the Federal government provides information aimed at leading America to better health, safety, and well-being. Topics covered include: diseases & conditions, safety & wellness, drug and food information.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Food and Drug Administration (FDA) is one of the nation's oldest and most respected consumer protection agencies.
Subject Guide |
Judy BubeContact Info:
UCI Science Library
SL 228
(949) 824-6650
Send Email
Subjects:
Research Librarian for Medicine
UCI Science Library
SL 228
(949) 824-6650
Send Email
Subjects:
Research Librarian for Medicine
Subject Guide |
Julie HillskemperContact Info:
Health Sciences Librarian
Grunigen Medical Library
University of California Irvine Medical Center
Orange, CA
Send Email
Subjects:
Health Sciences Reference
Health Sciences Librarian
Grunigen Medical Library
University of California Irvine Medical Center
Orange, CA
Send Email
Subjects:
Health Sciences Reference
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait