Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
* UC Irvine access only
Admin Sign In 

California Government Information 

Last update: Oct 12th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/california  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Environment             Print Page
  
 

Environment

• 

Governor's Office of Planning and Research
This Office recommends and implements state policies on land use, growth planning, general plans, and Local Area Formation Commissions.Provides advise on complying with the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA). 

•  CEQAnet Database
Provides summaries of Environmental Reports (EIRs), Negative Declarations, Environmental Impact Statements (EISs), and other types of CEQA and NEPA documents.
•  California Environmental Protection Agency
The California Environmental Protection Agency (Cal/EPA) was created in 1991. Its mission is to restore, protect and enhance the environment, to ensure public health, environmental quality and economic vitality. The six boards under this agency are:
•  Air Resources Board
•  Department of Pesticide Regulation
•  Department of Toxic Substances Control
•  Integrated Waste Management Board
•  Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment
•  State Water Resources Control Board
•  California Resources Agency
The mission of this agency is to restore, protect and manage the state’s natural, historical, and cultural resources for current and future generations through its many boards, commissions, and programs.
•  California Environmental Resources Evaluation System (CERES)
CERES is an information system developed to facilitate access to a variety of electronic data describing California’s environment.
•  Southern California Wetlands Inventory
The Inventory is a database of information on 41 coastal wetlands that lie between Mexico and Pt. Conception in northern Santa Barbara County. Data includes a map of the historic extent, map of recent habitat distributions, brief description of ecological conditions, and land use. The Orange County Collection in the Langson Library contains paper copies of all the reports referenced in the profiles.  
•  Department of Fish and Games
Manages state habitats and enforces the threatened and endangered species act.
•  Department of Water Resources
The department provides oversight for the many state water issues.
•  California Geological Survey
Part of the Department of Conservation and formerly the Department of Mines and Geology, it is responsible for preparing reports and maps on the geology and geologic hazards of California.
•  Seismic hazard maps
•  California Spatial Information Library
This is the California Geographic Information Systems web portal. The Frequently Accessed Data contains data for a variety of subjects. This site also provides access to DRGs (digital raster graphics), DOQQs (digital Ortho Quarter Quads) and SPOT Imagery.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageYvonne Wilson
Contact Info:
949-824-7362 Langson Library RM 106
Send Email

Subjects:
California and Orange County Government Information

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait