* UC Irvine access only
Last Updated: Jun 30, 2015
The Jewish Bible: Tanakh: The Holy Scriptures
- ATLA Religion Database *
The ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. Featuring articles written in 36 languages, ATLA includes over 400,000 article citations from over 1,400 journals, 600 of which are currently indexed. It also provides bibliographic coverage of over 200,000 essay citations from 15,500 multi-author works, over 375,000 book reviews, and features 128,000 subject-headings.
- PCI Full Text *
Index to journal articles in the arts humanities and social sciences including some published as far back as 1770 Includes periodicals in English German Italian French Spanish and other Western languages. Includes Journals such as Journal of Religion, Japanese Journal of Religious Stuidies, and Archivum historicum Societatis Iesu (Jesuit Journal with articles in several languages).
- FRANCIS (humanities & social sciences) *
A multilingual multidisciplinary database indexing books and journal articles in the humanities social sciences and economics It is strong in religion the history of art and literature with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature Most items have abstracts.
- Historical Abstracts *
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present Coverage is identical to the expanded edition of the CD ROM version.
- JSTOR *
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history economics political science demography mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences Consult the online tables of contents for holdings as coverage varies for each title.
- Philosopher’s Index *
A bibliographic database with informative author written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles books book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.
- Web of Science *
Encompasses the Science Citation Index (1945+), Social Science Index (1956+), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+). Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching to thousands of journals, many with searchable abstracts plus links to e-journal full-text.
- Worldwide Religion News
WorldWide Religious News is a non-profit service providing the international academic and legal community with up-to-date religious news from around the world. Events in recent years ranging from government suppression of the Falun Gong in China, to the Aum Shinrikyo gas attacks and subsequent legal proceedings in Japan, as well as the terrorist attacks of September 11th, have motivated an increased awareness and focus on the unique interplay of religion and society.
- Virtual Religion Index
This comprehensive site by the Rutgers University Religion Dept. was “designed to advance research in matters of religion.” Major headings include: Academic Sites (Societies, Electronic Publishing, Library Collections, Research Institutes, etc.), American Studies, Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Anthropology & Sociology (Tribal Cultures, Cults, Magic, Politics, Sacrifice, etc.), Archaeology & Religious Art, Biblical Studies, Buddhist Studies, and Christian Tradition
Scopus indexes and abstracts peer-reviewed journal literature in all disciplines, although it's strength is primarily in the sciences and social sciences. It has 21,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publisher and includes conference proceedings and some books.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies *
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world.
Langson Library 146
The threefold Lotus Sutra
English Translation of the Message of The Quran