LEXIS | WESTLAW
Both LexisNexis Academic and Westlaw provide access to primary and secondary legal research materials that includes federal and state ANNOTATED CODES, case law, and regulatory materials, and full text law reviews and journals [Access restricted]
How Our Laws Are Made
- Enactment of a Law [THOMAS] By Robert B. Dove, Parliamentarian, United States Senate (Updated February 1997).
- How our laws are made ... [THOMAS]
This brochure provides a basic outline of the numerous steps of our federal lawmaking process from the source of an idea for a legislative proposal through its publication as a statute. - Tying it all together - Learn about the legislative process [U.S. House of Representatives]
The chief function of Congress is the making of laws. The legislative process comprises a number of steps, and much information is available from this page concerning the legislation introduced and considered in the 110th Congress...
Serial Set
- Congressional Documents (GPO ACCESS)
Congressional documents originate from congressional committees and cover a wide variety of topics and may include reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports ... - Congressional Reports (GPO ACCESS) Congressional reports originate from congressional committees and deal with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. There are two types of reports House and Senate Reports and Senate Executive Reports.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817 to 1980 (READEX) Congressional committee prints, documents, treaty documents and other special publications either required by Congress or deemed important enough to publish. Excellent source for primary sources about the history of the United States...
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set (GPO ACCESS)
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports bound by session of Congress. ..
Legislation
- CapitolWords.org
Capitol Words gives you an at-a-glance view into the daily proceedings of the U.S. Congress through the simplest lens available-a single word. For every day that Congress is in session, Capitol Words displays the most frequently used word in the Cong Rec. - GPO Access, Legislative GPO Access provides free public access to full-text, official Federal information.
- GovTrack.us
GovTrack tracks the United States Congress. Follow the status of federal legislation or learn about your members of Congress -- GovTrack has information on all bills and votes going back over a decade, etc. ... - LexisNexis Congressional
Provides info produced by or pertaining to Congress, including House and Senate documents from 1995 onward, directories of members, committee rosters, the full text of bills from 1989 and of committee reports from 1990. - Library Of Unified Information Sources (LOUIS)

Welcome to the first phase of LOUIS - the Library Of Unified Information Sources, a project of the Sunlight Foundation, and an effort to illuminate the workings of the federal government... - OpenCongress.org
OpenCongress lets you research, track, and understand legislation in Congress. - Thomas
THOMAS was launched in January of 1995, at the inception of the 104th Congress. The leadership of the 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public. - U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817 to 1980 Congressional committee prints, documents, treaty documents and other special publications either required by Congress or deemed important enough to publish. Excellent source for primary sources about the history of the United States...
I'm Just A Bill

Loading Video Clip...
Subject Guide |
Brian Williams, JD MSLSOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
University of California, Irvine
brianrw@uci.edu
voice 949.824.0473
Send Email
Subjects:
Research Librarian for Criminology, Law & Society
![]() |
Contact Info:
University of California, Irvine
brianrw@uci.edu
voice 949.824.0473
Send Email
Subjects:
Research Librarian for Criminology, Law & Society
Search query:
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait