Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
* UC Irvine access only
Admin Sign In 

U.S. Government Information 

Last update: Oct 30th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/us  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Technical Reports             Print Page
  
 

Energy Files

You can search the EnergyFiles or select from the major databases below.
•  EnergyFiles--EnergyPortal Search
Multidisciplinary database. Good place to begin a search for technical reports from the U. S. Government. Despite the name, this is a series of multidisciplinary databases allowing searching of technical report literature from several technical report databases: energy, medicine, environment, geology, physical sciences, etc. Use one or several. Some of them supply full-text of the reports identified. Search by either subject or database. Databases included are:
-Energy Files Web sites
-DOE R & D Accomplishments
-DOE Research Summaries
-GrayLit
-EPrint Network (works in progress posted for peer review)
-Also the 3 databases below
•  Energy Citations Database
Citations to multidisciplinary scientific literature from 1948 to present. Many have links to full text of the document.
•  DOE Information Bridge
Provides full-text of technical reports issued by the Department of Energy from January. 1996 to present. Multidisciplinary in scope.
 
 

Background

If full-text of reports are available, the annotations below indicate that. For the others, after using the index and identifying the publication you need, be sure to copy the full citation, including any pertinent numbers like technical report numbers. The U.S. Government Information Librarian can assist you in locating or obtainining copies.

 

Interdisciplinary and Agency Publication Locators

•  Science.gov
Portal to locating science information, including technical reports, from various U. S. government agency web sites.
•  Google US Government Search
Helpful in 2 main ways. If you know the title of a report or simply to locate what is available from government agencies on a specific topic.
•  NASA Technical Reports Server
Search all NASA and NACA reports. NACA goes back to 1914. Multidisciplinary in scope. Many are now available electronically.
•  EPA Home Page
Each subject area will contain some of the more current and important reports relating to that topic.
•  EPA Publications Source
Includes a gateway to search for extensive collection on online technical reports.
•  US EPA National Online Library System
Provides searching of several EPA Library resources at once. Good to identify EPA reports. To obtain copies of reports cited, try searching ANTPAC for UCI holdings, or, search the EPA web page for more recent reports. You may also contact the U. S. Government Information Librarian for further assistance.
•  Index to EPA Test Methods
Test methods are not always easy to locate. This index collects and lists all of them, whether they are in an EPA Report, 40 CFR, a library or available electronically. There are lists by both method number and chemical or name accompanied by availability.
•  NTIS (CSA)UCI access only
1964 to present. A good way to identify technical reports from a variety of agencies and selected foreign countries. Multidisciplinary in subject coverage, but strongest in the sciences. To locate copies you can contact the U.S. Government Information Librarian at UCI, or, if try some of the other online resources listed on this page. Many of the newer titles may be available online for free. For those that are not, get full citation including title, agency, date, techinical report number, etc. Contact the U. S. Government Librarian to either obtain free electronic copies or borrow them from the California State Library.
•  NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology)
From weights and meaures to standards to calibrations to standard reference materials, "NIST's mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology." Many of their publications are available online. Publications may be searched in the database NIST TechniPubs linked off their publications page. For other data, use the databases linked below.
•  NIST Online Databases (free)
Links to over 80 databases, each devoted to a specific topic such as Weights and Measures, Atomic Spectra, Physical constants, Periodic Tables, Human Mitochondrial Protein, Polymer structures and much more.
•  STINET (DTIC)
Database to identify publically available scientific and technical publications from the Dept. of Defense. Many recent publications available electronically. For those available from NTIS, contact the U.S. Government Information Librarian for assistance.
•  NTIS (free)
1964 to present. An extensive index to government technical reports and other government documents. If you identify a technial report and the record indicates it is in electronic format but is not free, contact the UCI Libraries' U. S. Government Documents Librarian to obtain a copy.
•  U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Beginning place to search for various reports and libraries that include either the electronic text of a publication or a database to search to find them. Cover everything from engineering to maps from a local area in the U.S. to projects in Iraq and elsewhere around the world.
•  USACE Publications
Gateway to locating most Army Corps of Engineers resources.
•  USACE Images database
Search for visual images. Every thing from dams to birds. Can limit search by a variety of things such as geography and general topic.
•  USACE Catalog Database (CELIO)
Search to identify books, documents and reports from the Corps of Engineers libraries.
•  Catalog of U. S. Government Publications
Catalog for searching most government publications. Finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options, including searching by technical report number.
•  ASSIST (Acquisition Streamlining and Standarization Information System
The official source for Dept. of Defense specifications and standards. In addition to the full-text of the documents, it includes direct access to relatead DoD databases. Though free, users must register to access the system.
•  Digital Visual Library of photographs
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBrian Williams, JD MSLS


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
University of California, Irvine
brianrw@uci.edu
voice 949.824.0473
Send Email

Subjects:
Research Librarian for Criminology, Law & Society

Google

Search query:
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait