Patents, Trademarks
- Official Gazette Patents
Call numbers: (check ANTPAC for years covered by each call number). Microfilm: Frist floor microforms S-000325. Paper: Langson Lib Ref: TA 223 A23. Microfiche, U.S. Gov Info: C21.5: (vol./no.)... - Official Gazette Trademarks
The Official Gazette - Trademarks is being made available in electronic form (.PDF format) for the most recent fifty-two issues. The electronic version of the Trademark Official Gazette does not contain Patent and Trademark Office Notices... - Index to the U.S. Patent Classification System Call number paper: Langson Lib. Ref: T223 A25. Begin here. Search this by a word to try to identify the class and subclass into which a patent might fall. Then use these numbers in the Manual of Classification.
- Manual of classification Call number: Langson Lib. Ref T 223 F4 U5a. Use the class and subclass numbers found in the Index to the U.S. Patent Classification System and get more detail on what is covered. May need to check more than one class and subclass to identify th
- U.S. Patent Classification System classification definitions Call number: Langson Lib. Ref C 21.3/2: After using the Manual of Classification, then go to the definitions for detail to see what is included within a class and subclass. With the class and subclass found, then search for all the patents in
How to do it ...
Filing ...
Other IP
Trilateral Web Site (EPO, JPO, USPTO) [Trilateral Patent Database (links to EPO, JPO and USPTO portions)]
Argentina Australia Austria Belgium Belize Brazil Bulgaria Canada Canadian Patent Database Chile China, People's Republic of Croatia Czech Republic Cyprus Denmark Egypt Estonia Eurasian Patent Organization (EAPO) European Patent Office esp@cenet (EPO patent searches) Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hong Kong Hungary Iceland Ireland Israel Italy Japan Korea Latvia Lithuania Luxembourg Malaysia Mexico Moldava Monaco Nederland New Zealand Norway Organisation Africaine de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OAPI) Peru Philippines Poland Portugal (authentication required) Romania Russia Singapore Slovak Republic Slovenia South Africa Spain Sweden Switzerland Taiwan Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom UK Design, Patent and Trademark databases World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) WIPO Arbitration Center WIPO Documents Available from USPTO WIPO PCT Electronic Gazette Search Site (Patents) WIPO Trademarks Search Site (International Registrations - Madrid Protocol) WIPO Designs Search Site (Hague International Deposit of Industrial Designs) WIPO Article 6ter Search Site (State Emblems, Official Hallmarks, and Emblems of Intergovernmental Organizations) WIPO Appelations of Orgin Search Site (Lisbon Structured Search) Index of WIPO Data Collections
RESEARCH GUIDES
Quick access to authoritative guides on most legal research related subjects, including intellectual property
- Copyright, Patents, Trademarks, Intellectual Property and Data Protection
- Cornell University Law Library Legal Research Engine
- Georgetown Law Library Research Guides
- Law Scout, University of Akron School of Law
- LLRX.com
- M.G. Gallagher Law Library, University of Washington, Research Guides
- Patent Law International
- Patent Law Resources
- U.S. Patents Research Guide
- USF Research Guides
- Washlaw - Legal Research on the Web
SPOTLIGHT ON !
- Google Patents
"As part of Google’s mission to organize the world’s information and make it universally accessible and useful, we’re constantly working to expand the diversity of content we make available to our users... - Google Patents Advanced Search Interface Search patents by criteria, including patent number, inventor, and filing date. You can view images of original patents online.
USPTO LINKS
|
||||||||||||||
|
|
Policies & Procedures ... |
|
||||||||||||
|
|
Legal information |
|
||||||||||||
|
Under Secretary & Director... |
|
|
Key Sites
Asterisk * indicates uci access only
- European Patent Office Information on searching patents, how to apply for a patent, legal issues and facts.
- DEPATISnet
A German PTO patent database that permits bib data downloads from up to 250 patent records at a time. - Free Patents Online This site provides full text and images of US patents beginning with the patent number 4,000,000.
- Google Patents A tool for searching the full text of the U.S. patent corpus.
- INFOMINE: Locate specialized subject patent search sites, information, etc.
- Japan Patent Office Can search for patents and also learn more about legal issues and procedures. Tutorial on how to search. Can search free-of-charge. The services are operational and are updated on a daily, weekly and monthly basis respectively.
- LexisNexisTM Academic* Under "Legal Research" is a Patent Research section for searching of Patents (1971 to date), by individual category of Design Patents, Plant Patents or Utility Patents. Can also search by keyword, assignee, inventor, patent number, classification, lawyer.
- MicroPatent MicroPatent is a source for patent and trademark information. It functions as a resource for online searching, document delivery, patent analysis, file histories, and professional search assistance.
- PatentScope Maintained by the World Intellectual Property Organization, this facility allows you to search 1,344,736 international patent applications and to view the latest information and documents available to the International Bureau.
- PatTools A free collection of graphical, export, retrieval and analysis tools for patents.
- Scirus This resource indexes over 13 million patents from the US, European and Japanese Patent Offices, as well as, WIPO.
- U. S. Patent and Trademark Office
Official sources to help search for patents and trademarks with links to the Library of Congress for Copyright information. - WikiPatents WikiPatents is one of the largest free databases of patents open for public comment on the internet, allowing PDF downloading of patents, free patent translation into multiple languages and additional information and resources.
- WIPO Intellectual Property Digital Library
The Intellectual Property Digital Library Web site provides access to various intellectual property data collections currently hosted by the World Intellectual Property Organization.
Patent Depositories
* Indicates UCI Access Only
- California Patent Depository Libraries Have special databases and services to assist users identify patents. They also have microfilm of all patents.
- Los Angeles Public Library Los Angeles Public Library, 213 228-7220
- California State Library, Sacramento California State Library, Courts Bldg., 916 654-0069
- San Francisco Public Library San Francisco Public Library, 415 557-4500
- Sunnyvale Public Library SCI3, Sunnyvale Public Library, 408 730-7300
- Patent Attorneys in California, United States or International Directories , Martindale Hubbell International Law Digest
Call number: Langson Lib. Ref: KF 190 M328 - Also available via LexisNexisTM Academic* Select Legal - under Martindale-Hubbell - use pull-down menu for type of law to include either Intellectual Property or Science/Technology.
- Patent Attorneys by Geographic area From the Patent and Trademark Office.
- U.S. Copyright Office Information about filing a Copyright application, searching for copyrights, etc. Architecture is copyrighted. On-line works can also be protected by copyright.
Subject Guide |
Brian Williams, JD MSLS![]() |
Contact Info:
University of California, Irvine
brianrw@uci.edu
voice 949.824.0473
Send Email
Subjects:
Research Librarian for Criminology, Law & Society
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait