Databases and Indexes
| • | PAIS Archive Index to articles, books and government documents relating to various aspects of public affairs, including foreign relations. Dates cover publications from 1915-1976. |
||||
| • | PAIS International (via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts) Identify articles, books and government publications |
||||
| • | Worldwide political science abstracts Index to locate articles and publications relating to politics around the world. |
||||
| • | Congressional Universe Good to locate Congressional policy discussions on specific topics, with current ones being full text. |
||||
| • | Global Newsbank News articles, full-text, translated, from various international news sources. Good for different views of politics, economics, business, culture, environment, sciences. |
||||
| • | LexisNexis Government Periodicals Index of U.S. government periodicals searchable by keyword, title, author, agency, bibliographic data, or subject. Many unique articles not located in other ways. |
||||
| • | American Foreign Policy and Treaty Index and Abstracts Call number: JX 1417 A562 Located in Langson Library, Government Information Indexes Though not yet available on the web, the Abstracts do contain URLs for full text web resources. Also indexes very unique hard to locate resources (which UCI has in microfiche) |
||||
| • | Declassified Documents Extensive collection of documents previously under restricted security classifications. From various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and many others. |
||||
| • | Digital National Security Archive Declassified documents relating only to National Security of the U.S. Resources are based on specific topics rather than just broad coverage. Sample topics: Berlin Crisis, Cuban Missile Crisis, Iran gate, Presidential directives, and many more. |
||||
| • | National Security Archive More declassified documents on a different set of topics, many of them very current. |
||||
| • | The Nation Digital Archive since 1865 This important journal on U.S. foreign relations, politics and culture is available back to 1865. Search by subject or browse by date. |
||||
Treaties
- Hein Online, Treaties and Agreements Library Hein Online is a subscription database. Look for the Treaties and Agreements Library.
- Treaties and International Agreements Online [Oceana] A full-text searchable subscription database of all treaties that have been ratified by the U.S., major treaties still in the ratification process, and all tax treaties, even those to which the U.S. is not a party...
Foreign Relations
- Foreign Relations of the U.S.
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.... - Hein Online, Treaties and Agreements Library Hein Online is a rich, subscription database. Look for the Treaties and Agreements Library.
- Treaties in Force, U.S. Department of State Treaties in Force is prepared by the Department of State for the purpose of providing information on treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party and which are carried on the records of the Department of State.
- Treaties [THOMAS, Library of Congress] Complete coverage begins with the 94th Congress. Older treaties are included if they were pending in 1975 when the database was created.
- Treaties and International Agreements Online [Oceana] Full-text searchable database of all treaties that have been ratified by the U.S., major treaties still in the ratification process, and all tax treaties, even those to which the U.S. is not a party...
- U.S. Department of State Documents and stories on activities during the present Presidential Administration. International issues, travel, diplomacy, foreign cultures and more.
- U. S. Department of State Electronic Archives, 1990-1997
The Electronic Research Collection (ERC) is a partnership between the United States Department of State and the Federal Depository Library at the Richard J. Daley Library, University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC).
RESEARCH GUIDES
Quick access to authoritative guides on most legal research related subjects
Subject Guide |
Brian Williams, JD MSLSOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
University of California, Irvine
brianrw@uci.edu
voice 949.824.0473
Send Email
Subjects:
Research Librarian for Criminology, Law & Society
![]() |
Contact Info:
University of California, Irvine
brianrw@uci.edu
voice 949.824.0473
Send Email
Subjects:
Research Librarian for Criminology, Law & Society
Search query:
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait