* UC Irvine access only
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2013
Use this box to link to any related course guides whether they were also created using LibGuides or whether they are currently posted on Web Pages and Handouts.
- ABYZ News Links
- Access World News*
Scroll down to Access World News. Full text news resources from U.S. and abroad.
- All Headline News
Scours headlines from many news sources around the world. Click on "More Headlines" pull-down menu to reach other news topics or places.
- AltpressIndex (Alternative Press Index) and Archive*, 1969-
Online edition of Alternative Press Index. Indexes hundreds of alternative and social movement publications. Selected abstracts available. Links to catalog entries for possible full-text.
- Alt-Press Watch*
Database covering alternative press, some dating from several decades.
- Common Dreams News Center: Breaking News & Views for the Progressive Community
Contemporary issues-related articles from newspapers and news agencies and also links to progressive radio stations. Especially good archive of op eds.
- Ethnic NewsWatch*
Factiva, formerly Dow Jones Interactive and Reuters Business Briefing, offers "news and business information from a unique collection of nearly 8,000 world-class, universally indexed content sources in 22 languages from 118 countries."
- Google News
"Search and browse 4,500 news sources updated continuously." -- Web site.
- Lexis-Nexis™ Academic Universe*
News section includes access to full-text of newspapers and publications around the world.
- New American Media
Ethnic community news from across the United States, offering
"News By Ethnicities": African, African American, Asian, South Asian, European, Indigenous, Latino, Middle Eastern and "Intersections".
- Pandia Newsfinder
Gateway to progressive coverage of social issues and op eds from the left.
- Yahoo! News
- Yahoo! News (in Chinese)
Chinese-language news including news from or about China, Taiwan and Hong Kong.
- AP Imgages*
News photography both current and historical from the Associated Press.