Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
* UC Irvine access only
Admin Sign In 

Finding & Managing Digital Images  Tags: images digitalimages art visualstudies mediastudies  

A guide to online and subscription digital image collections at UC Irvine
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/images  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Image Collections at UCI            Print Page
  

Digital Collections Built by UCI

About UC Shared Images

Collection Development

Principles

  • Facilitate resource sharing and co-investment
  • Reduce redundant effort (e.g., digitizing the same image twice)
  • Create efficiencies for users and contributors (e.g., simplifying workflow and user experience)
  • Anticipate future needs and trends.
  • Digital Image Archive  
      
    UCI Visual Resources catalog of the slide collection with a growing archive of digital images.
  • UCI: Visual Resources Collection in ARTstor  
      
    UC Irvine started building a shared image collection of 35 millimeter slides in 1965 and continues the tradition of preserving and making accessible an instructional collection of world art and architecture (pre-historic to present), with collateral material for other area studies. Image acquisitions are based upon the research, teaching, and learning needs of students, faculty, and staff thus reflecting the interests of the UC.
 

Licensed Digital Image Collections (access restriced to UCI)

Collections of digital images licensed by the University of California Libraries in support of the research, teaching, and learning of UC faculty, students, and staff.
*Robust image management and presentation tools are available in ARTstor and Insight.

  • AP Images  
      
    Associated Press archive of over 1 million current news photos (with some historical material as early as the 19th century) including graphics such as tables, maps, and timelines.
  • ARTstor  
      
    The ARTstor image collections combined with UC institutional collections (preliminary content: architecture, art, and humanities) with software tools.
    *Note: Best accessed with one-time download of ARTstor’s Offline Image Viewer on your workstation.
  • Calisphere  
      
    Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
  • Camio  
      
    OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.
  • Grove Art Online  
      
    Electronic version of the reference resource The Dictionary of Art plus extensive image links.
  • Index of Christian Art  
      
    A thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art objects from early apostolic times to 1400. Morgan and Princeton Library manuscript images up to the end of the 16th century.
  • MOAC (Museums and the Online Archive of California)  
      
    77,000 images from museums, archives, and libraries increasing access to California’s cultural collections (University of California and non UC). MOAC is also available via Calisphere: http://www.calisphere.universityofcalifornia.edu/index.html
  • Pictures of Record  
      
    Digital images, essays, and bibliographies in the subject areas of: anthropology, archaeology, art history, political science, biology, architecture, and others
  • Luna Insight  
      
    The University of California Image Service provides digital image collections in support of teaching, learning, and research for faculty and students of the University of California. More than 30,000 images are available in these collections offered exclusively to Insight clients. Download Client from website.
  • Television News Archive  
      
    the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968.
 
 

From UCI Institutional Collection

 

 

 

Images are from the UCI Instiutional Collection in ARTstor

top image:

Creator : Walker, Kara (American, 1969- )
Title : Camptown Ladies: installation detail
Date : 1998

middle image:

Creator : Hausmann, Raoul (Austrian, 1886-1971)
Title : ABCD
Date : 1923-1924
Repository : Musée national d'art moderne (Paris, France)

bottom image:

Creator : Demuth, Charles (American, 1883-1935, painter)
Title : My Egypt
Date : 1927
Repository : Whitney Museum of American Art (New York, New York, United States)

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait