Ad Organizations
- The Advertising Educational Foundation
AEF provides educational content to enrich the understanding of advertising and to expand and elevate the advertising discourse... on-campus... in our society... and in the industry. - American Academy of Advertising
he Academy fosters research that is relevant to the field and provides a forum for the exchange of ideas among its academic and professional members. - American Advertising Federation
The AAF protects and promotes the well-being of advertising. We accomplish this through a unique, nationally coordinated grassroots network of advertisers, agencies, media companies, local advertising clubs and college chapters. - American Association of Advertising Agencies
(AAAA) is the national trade association representing the advertising agency business in the United States.
Ad Resources On the Web
- Advertising, Public Relations, and Propoganda
Selected reference and research resources from the Yale University Library - Ad*Access
- Adforum
- Adflip
The world's largest archive of classic print and magazine ads. Limited free and open access materials. - Ad History Repositories
- Life Magazine
Life Magazine partnered with Google Books to digitize the magazine's entire run as a weekly: over 1,860 issues, covering the years from 1936 to 1972.Users can browse, search and view a retrospective of Life magazine photos and ads. Users have free access to share, print and post images for personal use.
Ad Databases
- AP Images
Associated Press archive of over 1 million current news photos (with some historical material as early as the 19th century) including graphics such as tables, maps, and timelines - Vanderbil TV News Archive
This index database of national network television news programs includes streaming video of CNN news broadcasts as well as commercials from the mid-1990s to the present. - The Emergence of Advertising in America, 1850-1920
Presents over 9,000 images, with database information, that "illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States." - PSA Central (free, registration required)
The Ad Council, the producer of public service ads (PSAs) on TV and radio, in newspapers and magazines, on billboards and on the Web, makes a wide variety of these ads available for preview or download on this site.
Proquest Historical Newspapers and Periodicals
This collection of scanned and digitized historical newspapers includes advertisements.
CLICK HERE to access all Proquest Historical Papers. From this page you can select which papers you would like to cross search.
To search for advertisements, in combination with words or phrases:
1. Go to Advanced Search.
2. Change one of the drop-down boxes to Document Type.
3. Enter "ad" (without the quotation marks) in the Document Type search box.
NOTE: In the newspaper databases you can also enter "display ad" which will eliminate classified
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait