Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
* UC Irvine access only
Admin Sign In 

Finding & Managing Digital Images  Tags: images digitalimages art visualstudies mediastudies  

A guide to online and subscription digital image collections at UC Irvine
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/images  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Online Image Collections             Print Page
  
 

IMAGES

Tamaya uchi Komurasaki, Kochô,... Digital ID: 416416. New York Public Library

From the NYPL Digital Gallery

 

From Galaxy of Images

 

From Visual Arts Data Service

 

Images

top:

Image Title: Tamaya uchi Komurasaki, Kochô, Haruji = [Komurasaki of the Tamaya, [kamuro:] Kochô, Haruji]
Creator: Kitagawa, Utamaro, 1753?-1806 -- Artist
Medium: color woodcut
Specific Material Type: Prints

middle:

Robert John Thornton
New illustration of the sexual system of Carolus von Linnaeus . . ., 1807
Date of Image:N/A
Caption on Image:The Queen Flower
Other Subject Terms for this Image:
bird of paradise

bottom

Title: Gillette
Collection: Eckersley Archive: University of the Arts London
Designer: Tom Eckersley
Date: 1960

top right

Title: System (turquoias)
Series Title: Systems
Artist: David Hicks
Date: 2008
Technique: handbuilt
Temperature: low-fire
Glazing / Surface Treatment: glaze
Material: Terra Cotta
Object Type: Sculpture
License: Attribution License

 

Open Access Image Collections on the Web

Collections of digital images freely accessible to the public.

  • Access Ceramics  
      
    a growing collection of contemporary ceramics images by recognized artists enhancing ceramics education worldwide
  • Art Images Online  
      
    Collections of free images sources online including paintings, photography, works by women, architecture, and more.
  • Casselman Archive of Islamic and Mudejar Architecture in Spain  
      
    This collection contains over four thousand color slides and black and white photographs of medieval Spain. The images span over one thousand years of architectural history, from the seventh to the seventeenth century.
  • Calisphere - "The University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources."  
      
    Over 150,000 digitized items including photographs, newspaper, political cartoons, works of art, transcribed oral histories, and other unique cultural artifacts from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses and a variety of cultural heritage organizat
  • Digital Image Collections Wikispaces  
      
    The Digital Images Collections Wiki is a resource of Free- and Fair-Use digital image collections that are available for anyone to use for personal or educational purposes.
  • Flickr- The Commons  
      
    World's public photography collection/archive. Library of Congress, various museums, and libraries have also posted photographs for you to view.
  • Galaxy of Images  
      
    Contains a portion of the more than 1.5 million printed books and manuscripts in the collections of Smithsonian Institution Libraries.
  • GLOPAD  
      
    GloPAD (Global Performing Arts Database) records include authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators.
  • Google Images  
      
  • Internet for Image Searches  
      
  • Library of Congress Flickr Groups  
      
    With the launch of the Library of Congress pilot, Flickr began a new initiative called "The Commons." Cultural heritage institutions that join The Commons are sharing images from their photographic collections that have no known copyright restrictions.
  • Luna Commons  
      
    a new source for finding valuable, educational content from digital collections built in the Insight Software from Luna Imaging, Inc. and presented in Insight's dynamic new LUNA browser.
  • NYPL Digital Gallery  
      
    provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
  • Old Images of Asia  
    A growing collection of annotated and tagged colour and B&W old
    postcards' photographs and lithographs
  • Rumsey’s Visual Collections  
      
    Over 300,000 images from over 50 collections including maps, artwork, and photographs that are both free and subscription based collections. All collections are presented in Insight.
  • San Franciso Historical Photograph Collection  
      
    contains photographs and works on paper of San Francisco and California views from 1850 to the present. More about the collection
  • Visual Resources Online (links to digital image collections)  
      
    Online Visual resources of image collections and online art courtesy of the University of Michigan School of Art & Design. Catagories include: Africa & Diaspora | The Americas | Asia | Europe | Islam | Classical World of the Mediterranean | Photography |
  • The Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) Online Image Collections  
      
    VADS has provided services to the academic community for 11 years and has built up a portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in teaching and research.
  • Wellesley Image Wiki  
      
    The Digital Images Collections Wiki is a resource of Free- and Fair-Use digital image collections that are available for anyone to use for personal or educational purposes.
  • WIkipedia Public Domain Image Resources  
      
  • Wikimedia Commons  
      
    A database of 3,346,310 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
  • World Digital Library  
      
 
 

IMAGES

This list of online image collections is by no means comprehensive.

If you are having trouble locating images that you need, please consult with Virginia Allison, Research Librarian for Visual Arts at: v.allison@uci.edu

From Access Ceramics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait