Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
* UC Irvine access only
Admin Sign In 

Finding & Managing Digital Images  Tags: images digitalimages art visualstudies mediastudies  

A guide to online and subscription digital image collections at UC Irvine
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/images  Print Guide  RSS Updates

ARTstor Help             Print Page
  
 

ARTstor User Support Group

CONTACT

Try emailing the UCI ARTstor User Support Group at: artstor-uci@uci.edu. An on campus ARTstor expert will work with you to get your questions answered.

Luna Insight Guides

 
 

ARTstor: Getting Stared


Loading Video Clip...
 

ARTstor Quickstart Guide

ARTstor - Quick Start Guide

ARTSTOR FAQ

What is ARTstor?
ARTstor is a web-based tool which allows one to search for, view, and present high quality images of
art, architecture and design. Presentations may be made directly from the online ARTstor
environment, or ARTstor images may be combined with images from other sources for offline
presentation with ARTstor's Offline Image Viewer software, which needs not be connected to a
network to show images.

The main web address for the ARTstor homepage is http://www.artstor.org/.
This is where you enter the ARTstor environment, which is run through your web browser. From this
point you can search and browse for images, analyze, save, print data and images, and view contents
of public Shared folders.


There are other advanced features that you can utilize that require registration:
• Registered User: Save image Groups, add Personal Notes, register to view contents of password protected
Shared Folders, and download the Offline Image Viewer.
• Instructor Privileges: Create Shared Folders, add instructor commentary, create and upload
Personal Image Collections
To register, contact the UCI ARTstor User Support Group: artstor-uci@lib.uci.edu


Useful web guides:

ARTstor system requirements page
This page explains the hardware and software needed to run and use ARTstor correctly.
ARTstor quick start guide (pdf)
This is the official ARTstor one-page guide in pdf format.
ARTstor online help
This is the official ARTstor online help manual.

• ARTstor Visual Guide
Berkley generatedl ARTstor guide


Guides to advanced features:
ARTstor Offline Image Viewer (OIV)

ARTstor Quickguide to OIV
The Offline Image Viewer is a portable presentation tool when users wish to display the images
from their Personal Collections and the ARTStor Digital Library images in an offline environment
as an alternative to using the usual web environment.
ARTstor Personal Collections
This feature allows instructors to integrate their personal image and audio files with the ARTstor
Digital Library.


Contact:

For help or assistance, contact the UCI ARTstor Administrator & User Support Group: artstoruci@
lib.uci.edu

 

ARTStor FAQ

UC Irvine ARTstor FAQs

What is ARTstor? 

ARTstor is a digital library of IMAGES with associated DESCRIPTIVE DATA and software TOOLS useful for research, teaching, and learning.What kind of image content is in ARTstor?  

 

How do I get started?

Check your computer against the system requirements on the ARTstor web site www.artstor.org under “Using ARTstor.” Firefox, Internet Explorer, or Safari are the Internet browsers that work best with ARTstor. Make sure to disable the pop-up blocker or you will not be able to view the images that pop-up in these windows.

 

What are the 3 levels of access for ARTstor users?

 ARTstor allows for PROGRESSIVE ACCESS TO ADVANCED TOOLS:

1) unregistered - anyone on campus can access it with no obstacles

2) registered – when you first register, it is best to do this from a UCI computer (you can do this through software VPN, doesn’t work with  Web VPN, from home too). You will set up a logon and this will be the means to get into ARTstor from anywhere without needing VPN.

3) instructor level - most functionality and allows for personal collections

 

What is the 120 day grace period?

It indicates that if you want to continue using ARTstor remotely, you have that number of days remaining before you’ll need to access ARTstor from a valid IP address (on-campus or through VPN).

§Core Content of almost 1,000,000 Images Obtained from:

  • –Museums
  • –Libraries 
  • Scholars 
  • –UCSD VRC

UC Shared Image Collections. 

  • –UC Instructional Collections from UCB, UCI, UCR, UCSB, UCSC 
  • –UC Licensed Digital Content-Saskia

Personal Collections you build yourself.

 

How do I get help using ARTstor?

 

Who at UCI can help me one-on-one?
Virginia Allison, Visual Arts Research Librarian, v.allison@uci.edu

Becky Imamoto, Research Librarian for History rimamoto@uci.edu

Jose Perez, Multimedia Resources Center, Langson Library, jdperez@uci.edu
Jeff Schneidewind, Interactive Learning Center, Science Library, jhschnei@uci.edu
Jorge Santiago, Information Technology Center, Grunigen Medical Library, santiago@uci.edu
Lorelei Tanji, AUL for Collections, ltanji@uci.edu.

 

What kind of image content will I find in ARTstor?

There are three types of content in ARTstor:

  • Core Content of over 1,000,000 Images obtained from museums, libraries, and scholars
  • UC Shared Image Collections (ARTstor-hosted institutional collections) from  UC visual resources and other instructional collections and UC licensed digital content
  • Personal Collections (you build this from your own images)

 

What are the PERMITTED USES of ARTstor?

  • faculty/staff lectures
  • presentations
  • classroom handouts
  • course reserves
  • research projects
  • student presentations & papers

 

What are the PROHIBITED USES of ARTstor?

  • unrestricted Web sites
  • commercial purposes
  • print or electronic publications distributed through a press

            (whether commercial or noncommercial)

 

Can I use ARTstor images in publications and on unrestricted Web sites?

No, with the exception of their Images for Academic Publishing (search on IAP). Image providers participating in IAP have supplied publication-quality images and agreed to make them available free-of-charge for use in scholarly publications. ARTstor users can download IAP images and use them for publications and on unrestricted Web sites by providing some basic information and agreeing to the IAP Terms & Conditions of Use. IAP images will have an icon reading "IAP" located directly beneath their thumbnail image. In some instances, third-party copyright permissions may be needed (such as where the underlying work in an image is still under copyright). However, ARTstor and the image providers in the IAP service hope that by lowering the costs for academic publication, this initiative will significantly promote scholarship and learning in the arts and related fields, and will encourage others in the community to support such endeavors.

 

There are also two fair use Web sites that allow their images to be used on public Web sites: 

1) Worldimages http://worldimages.sjsu.edu (please credit the copyright holder somewhere in your documentation)

 

2)  Art Images for College Teaching http://arthist.cla.umn.edu/aict/ (they appreciate receiving a URL to see the image use)

 

 

What are the BENEFITS to using ARTstor and building shared image collections?

  • Search Across Core, UC, & Personal Collections in Cohesive Interface
  • Best of past attempts to build shared image collections with the spontaneity of present technology trends while looking to the future. 
  • UC is going to find out if this approximation of one-stop shopping for images in ARTstor is effective and useful
  • Growing content & ongoing technological development
  • High quality photography
  • Detailed descriptive data connected to images
  • Clear educational purpose for copyright law compliance
  • Easy to use image management and presentation tools
  • Access image groups & presentations from multiple locations
  • Can save time, reduce redundancy, preserve images   

 

What are some of the pedagogical uses of ARTstor?

  • search and find images and associated descriptive data
  • zoom and pan on images online
  • share groups of images that students can sort, display, print
  • create quick online presentations without exporting or typing data
  • export images to other software
  • use ARTstor as a class Web site or with campus courseware
  • share folders of images with students and create associated class assignments
  • add personal notes or public commentary to core data
  • build and use a personal collection
  • use the Offline Image Viewer for presentations
  • save image group citations or export to EndNote
  • upload audio files (MP3s)
  • find Quick Time Virtual Reality images (search on QTVR)
  • use ARTstor in JSTOR

 

What is different about ARTstor?

  • images, metadata, and tools bundled together making it different from other electronic resources
  • instead of MINING for images and using them in ubiquitous presentation software, users are encouraged to reverse their thinking & move everything into ARTstor, but both work

 

Where can I obtain additional information about image resources on the UCI campus?

  • UCI Libraries Image Guide

            http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/images

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait