* UC Irvine access only
Information resources for the UCI community interested in the field of literary journalism.
Last Updated: Oct 23, 2014
Hello and welcome the the UCI Libraries LibGuide for Literary Journalism.
In this guide, you will find numerous research resources. The guide's tabs will direct you to resources organized by genre. If you have any questions, feel free to contact Matt Roberts, your research librarian for Literary Journalism. If you need to connect to the library from off campus, be sure to download the VPN softwear. Finally, be sure to take advantage of UCI Libraries' Quick Reference Guide for answers to common reference questions.
Below you will find our most popular databases to search for articles.
- Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications. Also, one of the few places that indexes popular magazines like Time, Rolling Stone, etc.
- Web of Science
Provides access to records from the top journals, conference proceedings, and books in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research most relevant to the area of interest.
- CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
Below you will find our most popular newspaper databases.
- Access World News (America's Newspapers)
Contains full-text to local, regional, and national U.S. newspaper across the United States. Also contains newspapers in English from all-over the world. Go here for many local California newspapers, like the OC Register and Irvine World News.
- Los Angeles Times (1985 - Present)
The Los Angeles Times is one of the largest metropolitan newspapers in the U.S. The Times' editorial department is one of the most impressive in the world and the largest new gathering operation in California, which includes 22 foreign, 11 national, and four state bureaus.
- Los Angeles Times - Historical (1881-1984)
- New York Times (1980-present)
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
- New York Times - Historical (1851-2009)
Scanned documents, includes pictures and ads.
Below you will find additional databases that provide access to useful data and publications
Full-text regional, national and international newspapers - including the Washington Post and the New York Times, as well as legal newspapers such as the National Law Journal.
Factiva offers "news and business information from a unique collection of nearly 8,000 world-class, universally indexed content sources in 22 languages from 118 countries."
- Reporter's Desktop
A collaborative, noncommercial Web site containing tools for reporters.
- BRB's FREE RESOURCE CENTER
The publishing site BRB provides a core group of links to government searchable sites along with some important non-government sites.
- Justia Virtual Chase
Find online sources of public records as well as other Web-based people finding tools. Contains links to public records, reverse telephone directories, e-mail address finders, etc
"Melvyl" is the combined online catalogs of all the UC libraries and affiliates, containing records for books, journals, videos, maps, music scores, and other formats.