This is the "Home" page of the "Classics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
* UC Irvine access only

Classics   Tags: artsandhumanities  

Last Updated: Nov 9, 2010 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/classics Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask a Librarian

 

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.

Web VPN

Software VPN

More Information Regarding the VPN

Key Resources

  • L'Annee Philologique *  
    Rating
    The main bibliography for Classics. Available online from 1949-present and in print from 1924 (Langson Reference PA 29 A564). The bibliography is in French, but works in English keep their English title and summary (if available).
  • Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina *  
    Rating
    Includes Latin texts from antiquity, late antiquity, medieval and modern Latin consisting mainly of scholia, texts of grammarians, and lexicon articles.
  • New Jacoby Online*  
    Rating
    New edition of the 856 fragmentary historians that comprise F. Jacoby's monumental Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker Parts I-III, but with significant additions.
  • New Pauly Online *  
      
      
    Rating
    Major reference work for Classics. Contains lengthy articles by specialists, each with a substantial bibliography for further research. Also in print in Langson Library Reference: 5 N38 1996 (German), DE 5 N813 2002 (English).
  • Oxford Classical Dictionary *  
    Rating
    Contains concise definitions and explanations of terms relating to classical literature and history. These articles, written by experts, also contain valuable bibliographies for further reading.
  • Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization*  
    Rating
    Searchable online version provides a survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects. Drawing on the latest edition of the Oxford Classical Dictionary, the Companion offers articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine.
  • Oxford Companion to Classical Literature*  
    Rating
    Gives accounts of the lives of many classical authors and character entries and plot summaries for their works. General entries trace the development of literary forms such as comedy and tragedy. There is also wide coverage of the historical, political, social, and artistic background.
  • Perseus Digital Library *  
    Rating
    Perseus provides access to full-text resources in the original Latin & Greek (with translations), linguistic tools such as dictionaries and lexica, and useful secondary sources such as encyclopedias.
  • Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)  
    Rating
    Based at UC Irvine, the TLG has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
  • Thesaurus Linguae Latinae *  
    Rating
    Includes Latin texts from antiquity, late antiquity, medieval and modern Latin consisting mainly of scholia, texts of grammarians, and lexicon articles.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Kristin Andrews
Logo - AIM
Contact Info
388 Langson Library
Education & Outreach
kandrews@uci.edu
 

New Classics Titles

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip