Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
Course Guides
UC Irvine departments & sites
Finding faculty & campus resources
Professional information
Organizations, associations & career information
- American Chemical Society
- Career Information (American Chemical Society)
- DRG: Directory of Graduate Research (ACS)
- CAS 100th Anniversary Celebration
- Royal Society of Chemistry
- IUPAC-International Union of Pure and Applied Chemists Careers in Chemistry
- Chronicle of Higher Education
- Chronicle Careers: Find a Job -- Academic Positions
- Chemical Information Listserv (CHMINF-L) (requires registration)
- Careers in Chemistry
- 2011 = Year of Chemistry
What's New
American Chemical Society unveils Molecule
of the Week mobile application for iTunes - 16 Apr
2010
The American Chemical Society
(ACS) has launched a Molecule of the Week (MOTW) mobile application for
iTunes. MOTW is one of the most popular destinations on the ACS website. The
new application can be downloaded from www.acs.org/motwapp.
Many molecules are suggested by chemists and chemistry enthusiasts. Every
structure is reviewed by a scientist and displayed in 3-D and flat images with
a brief description. Each week, the MOTW presents a different molecule, with a
description, image of the molecular structure, links to records from the
Chemical Abstracts (CAS) Registry, and other information. Each record displays
the registry number, index name and synonyms, bibliographic information, and
more.
The new app automatically delivers these features to the convenience of an
iPhone, iPod Touch, and the just-released iPad.
Key Chemistry Sites
The top websites and resources for chemistry and chemical information.
* UC Irvine access only
- SciFinder Web (login) *SciFinder Scholar is now available on the Web for current students, faculty, and staff at all UC campuses. One time registration is required for new users, then login and search. Off-campus access requires use of the Cisco VPN software.
- SciFinder Scholar Web (registration details) *Web Version of SciFinder and SciFinder Scholar released for UC campuses! Requires Cisco VPN client for off-campus access. One time registration is required for new users, then login and search. The SFS client version will be retired as of June 30, 2011.
- Knovel *Online Interactive Books and Databases a large number of online science and engineering handbooks.
- CHEMnetBASE *Physical property data from Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) and The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
- Compendex (Engineering Index) (1863-present) *Citations with abstracts to worldwide literature in engineering and technology excluding patents Subject: Technology -- Abstracts; Engineering -- Abstracts; Technology -- Indexes; Engineering -- Indexes
- Reaxys (1700s - present) *An authoritative reference source on chemical properties and reactions which aims to be the synthesis resource for organic and inorganic chemistry. Reaxys is a combination of three chemistry databases: Beilstein (organic), Gmelin (inorganic), and Patent Chemistry.
- Cambridge Structural Database - downloadable client * The complete packages are several Gigabytes in size and requires site and confirmation codes to register the product after it is installed and for the quarterly updates issued by Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre.
- Cambridge Structural Database - Web version *Web CSD has a built-in editor for structure/similarity searching and structures can be viewed in JMol or AstexViewer. These all run on Java so it may be a bit slow to load. You also have to allow for popups and accept a digital certificate.
- ChemIDplusFree, web-based search system that provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases.
- Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry III *Presents a comprehensive overview of the major developments in the field since 1982 providing general and significant insights. Highlights the expansion of applications in organometallic chemistry with a strong organic synthesis focus. Provides a structur
- Entrez, The Life Sciences Search EngineCross-database searching for Entrez from NCBI.
- Fieser and Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis *Online database version of the standard reference work describing reagents of use to organic chemist
- e-EROS *electronic Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
- Finding Physical and Chemical PropertiesOnline and print reference sources for physical and chemical property information.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology *
- Merck Index of Chemicals and Biologicals. 14th edition. * An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals with over 10,000 monographs describing significant chemicals, drugs, and biological substances. Contains an organic name reactions section comprised of 446 named reactions and an index.
- Lange's handbook of chemistry *
- Landolt-Börnstein *More than 160,000 Compounds are displayed with 330,000 Links to physical data. Most efficent is a full text search, scanning compound identifications, physical property descriptions and book volume information.
- NIST Chemistry Webbook This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
- NTRL (National Technical Report Literature) *The National Technical Information Service acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence. The NTRL offers access to these authenticated government technical reports to libraries and technical information users.
- Organic Reactions *Online access not available at this time. Print volumes in Ayala Science Library Drum QD251 .O7 v. 1 - Organic Reactions is the definitive resource for synthetic transformations, with an emphasis on preparative aspects. In addition to providing reaction scope, stereochemical aspects, and side reactions, a selection of representative experimental conditions are given.
- Organic SynthesesAnnual collections of detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.
- ACersNIST Phase Diagrams Database *Phase Online functionality includes:
* Search commentaries and diagrams by chemical system, published author’s last name, volume, language, publications year, and figure number.
* View diagram’s chemical system, figure number, figure notes, references, commentary and footnotes.
* Manipulate diagrams with zoom in/out, lever rule, curve follow, mirror, Mol% to Wt% or Wt% to Mol% and built-in calculator. - PubchemPubChem is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. It provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. 12 Videos on using PubChem
- Science of Synthesis *
- Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry *
- Web of Science (1900-present) *The ISI® Science Citation Index Expanded provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 8,060 major journals across 173 disciplines, to 1900.
- Links for ChemistsChemistry section of the WWW Virtual Library
- Nanotechnology and Materials Technology
Electronic Books
Electronic book holdings for UC Irvine libraries are searchable in ANTPAC.
- ACS Style Guide *The ACS Style Guide is an established and definitive source within and beyond the chemistry community, educating researchers on how to effectively communicate scientific information.
- Springer E-Book * The UC Libraries have purchased nearly every Springer ebook published in English and German from 2005 to 2009.
- Knovel *Engineering and Technical handbooks
- Royal Society of Chemistry E-Books *Access to all RSC monographs 1986 to current year.
- CRCNetBase *Full-text search across science-technology-engineering databases of texts from CRC Press.
- Safari Tech Books online *Computer Scinece books from O'Reilly Publishing.
- Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection (2011 frontlist only) *(New titles cataloged monthly) Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection which includes 950 books with a 2011 publication date. The collection will serve a wide range of research needs in the life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
- Viewing e-books on an iPadThis video demonstrates how various types of e-books (from an academic library) display on an iPad via a browser (Safari). The books are all from subscription databases. By Valerie Forrestal and Julie Arnett, Stevens Institute of Technology, June 2010. (12:07)
Research Librarian for Chemistry, Earth System Science, and Russian Studies |
Contact Info Research Librarian for Chemistry, Earth System Science, and Russian Studies Scholarly Communications Coordinator mcbrown@uci.edu University of California The UCI Libraries P.O. Box 19557 Irvine, CA 92623-9557 |
RCS Chemistry World RSS
Loading...
Chemical Drawing Software
- Symyx Draw StandaloneA program that allows you to generate structural formulas for complex molecules using a very intuitive drag-and-drop interface. Available for PC and Macintosh platforms. REGISTRATION IS REQUIRED.
- ACD Labs - ChemSketch 12.0 FreewareACD/ChemSketch Freeware is a drawing package that allows you to draw chemical structures including organics, organometallics, polymers, and Markush structures.
- KnowItAll Academic EditionWith the Academic Edition of KnowItAll, you can have it all and know it all for free-draw structures, perform IR and Raman functional group analysis, and generate high-quality reports.
- Marvin Sketch 3.5.2MarvinSketch is a Java based chemical drawing tool. MarvinSketch allows you to create and edit molecules in various file formats including MDL mol, Compressed mol, unique SMILES, SMARTS, Sybyl mol, PDB, CML, XYZ, POV-Ray.
- ChemDoodle 3.2.1ChemDoodle also natively reads and writes many common file formats including ChemDraw's CDX and CDXML.




Loading...
