Zotero FAQ
* UC Irvine access only
Admin Sign In 

Bibliographical Management Software  Tags: endnote refworks bibliographic_management_software citing citing_references citing_sources zotero  

Citation tracking software using EndNote, Refworks, and Zotero. Examples of citation styles and how to track scholarly article citations.
Last update: Oct 27th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/bms  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Ask A Librarian

 

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.

Web VPN

Software VPN

More Information Regarding the VPN

 
 

Important Notice

Due to the current budget cuts the UCI Libraries will not renew its subscription to RefWorks. The subscription will end December 31, 2009.  We apologize for any inconvenience this cancellation creates. 

As of October 30, 2009, no new accounts will be created on the RefWorks platform. 

Please see our page on RefWorks for further information.

 

Definition and Use of BMS

What is it ?

Bibliographic management software allows you to create and track references (aka citations) and to create bibliographies or reference lists formatted in the appropriate style, such as APA, MLA, Chicago or Turabian. You can simultaneously import records from databases such as PubMed, PsycINFO and Web of Science in addition to many others. You can add abstracts, keywords and other functions that enhance and improve the efficiency of your project.

How does bibliographic management software save time and how might I use it?

  • Create bibliographies and references almost instantaneously.
  • Reduce the likelihood of duplicate citations by removing them
  • Create your own critical abstracts, which is part of the the production of your work.
  • Re-use or repurpose your own content over time.
  • Search and organize your own database of references according to how you would use them.
  • Embed footnotes, endnotes and within text citations.

What it won't do

  • It will not create a perfect bibliography or reference list according to your favorite style. For example, you will still have to know APA, MLA, Chicago or Turabian.
  • It will not correct errors or omissions that were in the database from which you retrieved references.
  • It will not always know what type of material you are putting into it from a database (e.g. it cannot always distinguish a proceeding from a book).
  • At this time, no bibligraphic management software handles legal citation formats.

 

 
 

Comments

The UC Irvine Libraries Value Your Feedback and Comments

Please fill out our Comment Form.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait