ChineseJapaneseKorean
Chinese StudiesJapanese StudiesKorean Studies
This is the "Home" page of the "Asian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
* UC Irvine access only
Currently, this subject guide primarily focuses on East Asia, and covers resources for the study of various social and humanities aspects (e.g. languages, literature, economics, history, politics, cultures...) of China, Japan, and Korea.
Last Updated: Oct 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/asian_studies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Antpac Search


Find books, government documents, maps and more ...

How to search ANTPAC? Ask a UC Librarian Feed Back

 

Melvyl Search

Search UC Irvine Libraries and beyond

Advanced Search Search with WorldCat

 

Duxiu Search

 

CiNii

 

RISS

Instructional Materials

Here provides links to East Asian course-based library instruction materials composed by UCI librarians in the past. For more materials, please go to Web Pages and Handouts.

 

Key Resources for East Asian Studies

Cross-subjects
AsiaExperts [Asia Society, New York] AsiaProfile [Asia Society, New York]
Asian for Educators (Columbia U.) Bibliography of Asian Studies*
e-Asia Digital Library CrossAsia
KnowledgeBank at OSU East Asian Online Books ResearchSEA
New Asia Books
读秀学术搜索 duxiu.com * 阿帕比电子书库* (IE browser)
万方数据 Chinese Studies Online (CSO) * 超星(Chinamaxx)数字图书馆 *
中国学术期刊网 *(镜像站)* 全國博碩士論文資訊網 (臺灣) 1958-
Hong Kong University Theses Online (HKUTO) Wisenews 慧科资讯 *
Modern China Studies (现代中国研究) at Pittsburgh University 中文电子刊物大全
GoogleBooks China=谷歌图书搜索 Oriprobe Information Services
Directory of Digital Chinese Local Gazetteers and Yearbooks China Beat Blog
JAIRO (Japanese Institutional Repositories Online) CiNii 論文情報ナビゲータ *
Japan Knowledge 知識探索サイト* MagazinePlus 雑誌記事索引フアイル *
近代デジタルライブラリー at 日本国国立国会図書館 貴重書画像データベース at 日本国国立国会図書館
研究成果報告、学位論文 (筑波大学) 東方學デジタル圖書館
東洋学文献類目検索 日本の新聞リンク集
Nichibungen Databases 電子図書館
GoogleBooks Japan=Googleブック検索(Beta)
RISS International * DBPia*
국가전자도서관 Digital Library, National Library of Korea 한국언론재단 KINDS from Korea Press Foundation
Arts
National Palace Museum Online  MIT's Visualising [Asian] Cultures
Michael Lewis East Asian Image Collection Old Images of Asia
上海美術風雲 : 1872-1949申報藝術資料條目索引 台灣美術展覽會資料庫 (1927-1943)
東京文化財研究所研究資料データベース検索システム NCC's Japan Art Catalog Project
JAANUS - Terminology of Japanese Architecture and Art History Early Photography of Japan at Harvard
A to Z Photo Dictionary of Japanese Buddhist Statuary
See also Visual Arts Subject Guide
Film and Drama
中国电影资料库 香港電影評論學會
Chinese Filmscript and Advertisement Collection 1946-1985 Asian Film Online *
日本映画データベース                            Kinema Club
黒澤デジタルアーカイブ 幻燈データベース(Theatre Museum at Waseda Univ.) 
Koreanfilm.org movie reviews, news...   Korean Film Council (KOFIC)
Korean Film Archive (KOFA) Korean Film Database
See also Film & Media Subject Guide
History
Ancient/Classical History (Timelines) 西洋古版アジア地図 (大阪大学)
East Asia (under Imperial Japan) Image Collections 民国时期期刊全文库*
中华文史网 (中国国家清史编撰委员会) China Through Western Eyes
超星地方志库* 超星文史资料库*
地名權威資料庫 - Place Authority Database 時間權威資料庫- Time Authority Database
中國歷代人物傳記資料庫(CBDB)  人名權威資料 (明清檔案)
China Historical Geographical Information System (GIS) from Harvard University 中华文明之时空基础构架 Chinese Civilization in Time and Space
Shun Bao 申報 (1872-1949)* 中共党史期刊数据库 *
Historical Photographs of China Chinese Pamphlets (1947-1954)
Bucklin China Archive - Looking at China in 1924 Virtual Shanghai: Shanghai Urban Space in Time
London Missionary Society collection online 北京记忆-昨日报章
中央日报(1928-1949)标题索引 新国民日报 (1919-1933)
(台灣)日治時期圖書全文影像系統 台灣日治時期統計資料庫
台灣舊照片資料庫 慈林教育基金會典藏台灣社運史料
アジア歴史資料センターJapan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR) 国立公文書館 National Archives of Japan Digital Archives (NAJDA)
占領期新聞・雑誌記事情報データベース 1945年~1949年 東寺百合文書WEB
Digital Archives (神戸大学) 電子版貴重書コレクション (東京大学)
中川家文書 (神戸大学) 女性関連資料 (奈良女子大学)
雑誌「学習研究」 (奈良女子大学) 日本史年表
Japanese Historical Maps * 毎日フォトバンク
NHK戦争証言アーカイブス Old Photographs of Japan (1850-1900)
The Ohara Institute Poster Collection
국가기록포털 National Archives Portal Service 한국역사정보통합시스템 Korean History Online
Korean Genealogical Tables Danseoung Census Register DB
Naver News Library (1920-1999)
See also History Subject Guide
Language and Literature
阿帕比电子书库 * 《红楼梦》电子版
《三国演义》电子版 《水浒传》电子版
全宋诗分析系统(北京大学) 全唐诗分析系统(北京大学)
中国现代文学研究网 (香港中文大学) 香港文學資料庫(香港中文大學圖書館)
當代文學史料知識加值系統 (臺灣國家圖書館) 世界華文文學資料庫
智慧型全臺詩知識庫 (1593-1988) 臺灣文學年鑑資料庫
臺灣文學研究集刊 台灣作家作品檢索資料庫
Translations from Chinese (红楼梦,战国策) 開放文學
日本国文学研究資料館データベース Japanese Literature in Translation Search (1868-)
青空文庫 Japanese Text Initiative
電子版霞亭文庫(東京大学) 声の図書室
J-Texts日本文学電子図書館 日本ペンクラブ電子文藝館
館蔵の江戸文学資料 (名古屋大学)  国文学研究資料館電子資料館
Korean Short Story Index

English Translations of Korean Literature Published since 2000

Korean Literature in English Translation (1996-2000)

Korean Literature 1945-1950

See also Comparative Literature Subject Guide
Philosophy and Classics
古今图书集成 Gu Jin Tu Shu Ji Cheng* 四库全书Siku Quanshu (文渊阁版)IE browser only *
四部丛刊Sibu Congkan (上海涵芬楼版) * 故宫[寒泉]古典文献全文检索资料库
Chinese Philosophical Etext Archive 中国哲学电文檔案 中央研究院漢籍電子文獻 (Scripta Sinica)
全國漢籍データベース(日本所藏中文古籍數據庫) 電子版自然真営道 (東京大学)
東京大学東洋文化研究所 漢籍善本全文影像資料庫  
See also Philosophy Subject Guide
Political Science
Chinese Pamphlets (Political communication and mass education in the early period of the People's Republic of China) * Chinese Posters (1949-1997)of China) 
Thomas H. Hahn Docu-Images from the Cultural Revolution China 1972 [Cultural Revolution] Image Database
See also Political Science Subject Guide
Religion
Muslims and Missionaries in China (1930s) from Harvard University Library 中华电子佛典线上藏经阁 from Chinese Buddhist Electronic Text Association
Mapping Buddhist Monasteries 200-1200 CE

Zotero Bibliography for Buddhist Studies (Muller)

See also Religious Studies Subject Guide
Sociology
中国社会学网     中华人民共和国国家统计局
China Data Online 中国数据在线* 阿帕比中国年鉴资源全文数据库 *
China Labour Bulletin中國勞工通訊
日本政府統計の総合窓口 (e-Stat)  
KOSIS 국가통계포털 National Statistical Portal
See also Sociology and Social Science Data Subject Guides

Directories and Search Engines for Finding East Asian Resources

  • Asia Source
    A resource of the Asia Society
  • Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library
    "...is produced by the Internet Publications Bureau, Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies at The Australian National University (ANU)"--the Web
  • AccessAsia
    Allows search for thousands of Asian studies' experts & their websites in the field of contemporary Asian affairs, including business, economics, foreign relations, government, energy, environment, health, modern history, security, religion, science, and technology.
  • H-ASIA International Electronic Discussion Groups
    Enables Asia studies scholars to easily communicate current research and teaching interests, to discuss new articles, books, papers, approaches, methods and tools of analysis, and to test new ideas and share comments and tips on teaching.
  • Portal to Asian Internet Resources (PAIR)
    Provide access to high quality Web resources originating in Asia identified, evaluated, selected and cataloged by area library specialists, area studies scholars, based at the libraries of U. of Wisconsin, U. of Minnesota and Ohio State U.
  • Asian Studies - Area Studies in the Yahoo! Directory
    A directory of selective Web resources on Asian Studies.
  • Asian Studies - Academic Info
    Provides a variety of links to Asian Studies resources. The site is maintained by Mike Madin, a librarian.
  • Asian Studies Search Engines
    Provides search boxes for many Asian Studies related websites, listservs and blogs.
  • OpenDOAR: The Directory of Open Access Repositories
    "an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories."
  • 공공데이터포털 Korea Public Data Portal
    Some materials may be used without registration, while the others require valid Korean Social Security Numbers. The English Web site only has introductory materials.
  • 百度
    the most popular and powerful search engine in China
  • Yahoo! Japan
    the most popular and powerful search engine in Japan
  • Naver
    the most popular and powerful search engine in Korea

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Ying Zhang
Contact Info
Office: 466 Langson Library
Phone: (949) 824-0489
Fax: (949)824-0605
Email: yingz@uci.edu
Send Email
 

Ask a Librarian

Shanghai Exhibit

The Libraries’ spring exhibit, “Shanghai’s Two Faces: Cosmopolitanism and Glocalization,” depicts Shanghai’s transformation from a fishing and market town into a major global commerce and finance center.

Create Bibliographies

Use these bibliographical management tools to develop your own databases.

  • EndNote  
      
    Software purchase and installation is required
  • Zotero  
      
    a free, easy-to-use Firefox-compatible tool to help manage your bibliographies
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip