* UC Irvine access only

Asian Studies  Tags: east_asia china japan korea  

Currently, this subject guide primarily focuses on East Asia, and covers resources for the study of various social and humanities aspects (e.g. languages, literature, economics, history, politics, cultures...) of China, Japan, and Korea.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/asian_studies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Antpac Search


Find books, government documents, maps and more ...

How to search Antpac? Ask a UC Librarian Feed Back

 

Melvyl Search

Search UC Irvine Libraries and beyond

Advanced Search Search with WorldCat

Course Guides

Here provides links to East Asian course-based library instruction materials composed by UCI librarians in the past. For more materials, please go to Web Pages and Handouts.

 
 

Key Resources for East Asian Studies

Art
National Palace Museum (NPM) Online
=故宫线上
*
ARTstor *
Smithsonian Institution Collection Search Center Taiwan Art Exhibition (1927-1943) Database 台灣美術展覽會資料庫
Michael Lewis Taiwan Image Collection postcards (1918-1933) Old Images of Asia
See also Visual Arts Subject Guide


Film and Drama
中国电影资料库 香港電影評論學會
Chinese Filmscript and Advertisement Collection 1946-1985
日本映画データベース                            Kinema Club at OSU
黒澤デジタルアーカイブ
Koreanfilm.org movie reviews, news...   Korean Film Council (KOFIC)
See also Film & Media Subject Guide


History
Ancient/Classical History (Timelines) Digital Ancient Asia Maps by Westerners (Osaka University)
中华文史网 (中国国家清史编撰委员会) China Through Western Eyes
地名權威資料庫 - Place Authority Database 時間權威資料庫- Time Authority Database
China Historical Geographical Information System (GIS) from Harvard University 中华文明之时空基础构架 Chinese Civilization in Time and Space
Electronic Index to the Early Shenbao 申報 (1872-1898) Historical Photographs of China
Classified Bibliography of Reference Works on Chinese Historical Geography 人名權威資料 (明清檔案)
中國歷代人物傳記資料庫(CBDB) Taiwan Colonial Pictorial Works(1933-1938)
Bucklin China Archive - Looking at China in 1924 Gerald Warner Taiwan Image Collection (1937-1941)
London Missionary Society collection online Virtual Shanghai: Shanghai Urban Space in Time


アジア歴史資料センターJapan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR) 国立公文書館 National Archives of Japan Digital Archives (NAJDA)
Digital Archives (神戸大学) 電子版貴重書コレクション (東京大学)
中川家文書 (神戸大学) 女性関連資料 (奈良女子大学)
雑誌「学習研究」 (奈良女子大学) 日本史年表
Japanese Historical Maps * Mainichi Photo bank
The Ohara Institute Poster Collection Old Photographs of Japan (1850-1900)


국가기록포털 National Archives Portal Service 한국역사정보통합시스템 Korean History Online
Korean Genealogical Tables Danseoung Census Register DB
Naver News Archive Service (1976-1985)
See also History Subject Guide


Language and Literature
阿帕比电子书库 * 《红楼梦》电子版
《三国演义》电子版 《水浒传》电子版
全唐诗专业版 (北京大学) 全宋詩专业版 (北京大学)
全宋诗分析系统(北京大学) 大连图书馆明清小说全文库
香港文學資料庫(香港中文大學圖書館) 世界華文文學資料庫
智慧型全臺詩知識庫網站 (1593-1988) 臺灣文學年鑑資料庫
當代文學史料影像全文系統 (臺灣國家圖書館) 台灣作家作品檢索資料庫
臺灣文學研究集刊  Translations from Chinese (红楼梦,战国策)
日本国文学研究資料館データベース Japanese Literature in Translation Search (1868-)
電子版霞亭文庫(東京大学) 館蔵の江戸文学資料 (名古屋大学)
Korean Short Story Index

English Translations of Korean Literature Published since 2000

See also Comparative Literature Subject Guide


Philosophy and Classics
古今图书集成=Complete Classics Collection of Ancient China * 四库全书Siku Quanshu (文渊阁版) *
四部丛刊Sibu Congkan (上海涵芬楼版) * 故宫[寒泉]古典文献全文检索资料库
Chinese Philosophical Etext Archive 中国哲学电文檔案 全國漢籍データベース(日本所藏中文古籍數據庫)
東京大学東洋文化研究所 漢籍善本全文影像資料庫 電子版自然真営道 (東京大学)
See also Philosophy Subject Guide


Political Science
Chinese Pamphlets (Political communication and mass education in the early period of the People's Republic of China) * Chinese Posters (1949-1997)of China) 
Thomas H. Hahn Docu-Images from the Cultural Revolution China 1972 [Cultural Revolution] Image Database
See also Political Science Subject Guide


Religion
Muslims and Missionaries in China (1930s) from Harvard University Library 中华电子佛典线上藏经阁 from Chinese Buddhist Electronic Text Association
See also Religious Studies Subject Guide


Sociology
中国社会学网    
中华人民共和国国家统计局
China Data Online 中国数据在线 * 阿帕比(Apabi)中国年鉴资源全文数据库 *
China Labour Bulletin 中國勞工通訊
日本政府統計データ。ポータルサイ
KOSIS 국가통계포털 National Statistical Portal
See also Sociology and Social Science Data Subject Guides


Cross-subjects
AsiaExperts [Asia Society, New York] AsiaProfile [Asia Society, New York]
Asian for Educators (Columbia U.) KnowledgeBank at OSU East Asian Online Books
e-Asia Digital Library Bibliography of Asian Studies *
ProQuest Reference Asia * ResearchSEA


读秀学术搜索 duxiu.com * 阿帕比电子书库 *
超星数字图书馆 * 全國博碩士論文資訊網 (臺灣) 1958-
e-Asia Digital Library
Hong Kong University Theses Online (HKUTO) 中国学术期刊网 *
万方数据 Chinese Studies Online (CSO) * Wisenews 慧科资讯 *
中央研究院漢籍電子文獻 (Scripta Sinica) Modern China Studies (现代中国研究) at Pittsburgh University
汉学研究 汉学研究通讯
中文电子刊物大全 GoogleBooks China=谷歌图书搜索(Beta)
China Beat Blog Oriprobe Information Services


占領期新聞・雑誌記事情報データベース 1945年~1949年 JAIRO (Japanese Institutional Repositories Online)
貴重書画像データベース at 日本国国立国会図書館 研究成果報告、学位論文 (筑波大学)
GoogleBooks Japan=Googleブック検索(Beta) CiNii 論文情報ナビゲータ *
Japan Knowledge 知識探索サイト* MagazinePlus 雑誌記事索引フアイル *
Electronic Journal of Contemporary Japanese Studies Japan Focus, an Asian Pacific e-Journal
日本の新聞リンク集 東方學デジタル圖書館


국가전자도서관 Digital Library, National Library of Korea 한국언론재단 KINDS from Korea Press Foundation
Chosŏn Ilbo Archive (朝鮮日報)* RISS International *


Directories and Search Engines for Finding East Asian Resources

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageYing Zhang


Contact Info:
Office: 466 Langson Library
Phone: (949) 824-0489
Fax: (949)824-0605
Send Email

 

Ask a Librarian

 

Ask A Librarian

Shanghai Exhibit

The Libraries’ spring exhibit, “Shanghai’s Two Faces: Cosmopolitanism and Glocalization,” depicts Shanghai’s transformation from a fishing and market town into a major global commerce and finance center.

Create Bibliographies

Use these bibliographical management tools to develop your own databases.

  • Refworks  
    Free to UCI faculty, staff and students
  • EndNote  
    Software purchase and installation is required
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait