* UC Irvine access only
Admin Sign In 

Arts Guide to Library Resources (Art History, Studio Art & Visual Studies)  Tags: art arts visualarts visualstudies arthistory studioart mediastudies contemporaryart  

Main Research Guide for Library Resources used in Art History, Studio Arts, and Visual Studies
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/art  Print Guide  RSS Updates

HOME            Print Page
  

Browsing the Stacks

Visual Art Books are located on the thrird floor of the Langson Library. Find Art Books by Subject using chart below. For narrower subjects within the N's, click on link below

Library of Congress Expanded Classification List

  •  N Visual arts
  • NA Architecture
  • NB Sculpture
  • NC Drawing. Design. Illustration
  • ND Painting
  • NE Print media
  • NK Decorative arts
  • NX Arts in general
      
     

    Note

    This Guide is best viewed in Firefox

     

     

    Image Credit

    Creator:  South Indian
    Title:  Saint Sambandar
    Work Type:  Sculpture
    Date:  Chola period, 12th century
    Location: India, Tamil Nadu
    Material: Copper alloy

     

    Key Sites


    *UC Irvine Access Onlyart art art art art art art art

    • Oxford Art Online*  
        
    • Art Full Text & Art Retrospective*  
        
      Contains some full text articles from periodicals published internationally and in multiple languages since 1929. Reproductions of works of art are also indexed.
    • Jstor*  
        
      Hint, used "advanced search" and limit search to art subject areas.
    • Art Bibliographies Modern*  
        
      Some abstracts and full text.The scope ranges from impressionism in the late 19th century to current works and trends, 1974 on.
    • Bibliography of the History of Art*  
        
      Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present, 1973 on.
    • Web of Knowledge*  
        
      Provides access to Arts & humanities citation index from 1975 to the present.
     
     

    Looking for Images?

    Check out:

    The Library Guide for Finding and Managing Images.

    Guide includes extensive resources for finding images in all subject areas.

    Guide also includes ARTstor Help documentation, Advertisement Resources, and tips for managing, editing, and teaching with images.

     

    Course Guides

    Art History Practicum Fall 2009

    Studio Art: Research Methods

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait