News Block
News about events and new information products are noted here:
- ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital LibraryASTM is the major database for standards issued by the American Society for testing and materials. Includes full text current and historical standards, and all other publications issued by ASTM: e-books, symposia, journal articles.
- Plunkett Research OnlinePlunkett Research, Ltd. recently announced an important market research and competitive analysis reference work, Plunkett's Games, Apps & Social Media Industry Almanac, 2012 edition. A complete market research book, including forecasts and market estimates, technologies analysis and developments at innovative firms.
- Reuters Science NewsGlobal news summaries about latest science events, policies and findings from news wires and media outlets.
- ScienceWatchTracks trends and performance in global scientific research since 1989 and includes interview, competitive intelligence, data and rankings, special topics.
Quick Links
The UCI Library Website is your point of departure as you seek information.
Ask A Librarian
Connect From Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our licensed databases and resources. Please contact NACS if you need assistance at 949-824-2222.
Mobile Access Optimized @ UCI
Increasingly many of our licensed library resources are available via mobile devices - this link will tell you what is available and on what platform.
Using Databases
Off-campus users: Please login to the VPN
For descriptive information about each database,go to "Find Articles - Using Databases" tab.
Introduction
Includes the study of software architecture, software development, design and analysis, programming languages, ubiquitous computing, information retrieval and management, human-computer interaction, computer-supported cooperative work, bioinformatics and its different emphases such as in medical bioinformatics, and other topics that bridge information techology design and use in social and organizational computing. Emphasis on policy and representation, discrete mathematics, arts computation, medical informatics, pervasive computing and related topics. Additional relevant information may be found on the Subject Guide for Electrical Engineering and Computer Science to support the Samueli School of Engineering.
Copying/Printing at the Libraries
Beginning in Fall, 2008 the UCI PhotoID will serve as your copy card for copying and xeroxing. It requires that money be added to it by inserting it in one of the Regenerator machines found throughout the UCI Libraries. Enter a few dollars at a time and add to it when it is depleted. Costs will be debited at the rate of 8 cents per copy or xerox made; 12 cents per page of printing.
Evaluating Information
When using Online or Internet Resources, consider Search Engines vs. metasites - evaluate resource - consider domain - .edu, .com, .gov, .org, etc.
Thinking Critically about World Wide Web Resources - or Evaluation Techniques for Internet Resources
- Authority control - authorship - who, affiliation, where
- Currency - note the date, the update, does it reflect the right period of time
- Evaluate the source - establish criteria that is meaningful to covering the topic
- Citing Internet resources - URL & date of the search
- Capturing and citing
- Copying
Liaison Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
